Coterminous Town-Villages

Because each Nassau County village is situated in one of three towns (except Garden City), it is understandable to assume a similar arrangement exists throughout the State of New York. Actually, 72 villages are located in two towns and five villages are located in three towns. Also, nine villages are located in two counties. One village, Saranac Lake, lies in three towns and two counties. Five villages — Green Island in Albany County; East Rochester in Monroe County; and Scarsdale, Harrison and Mount Kisco in Westchester County — are coterminous with towns of the same name. A coterminous town-village is a unique local government structure. The town and village share the same boundaries and the governing body of one of the coterminous governments may serve as the governing body of the other (for example, the mayor serves as town supervisor and trustees serve on the town board).